Book Blog, Book Talk

My 5 Star Predictions

I’m stealing this from Kayla @ Booksandlala on Youtube. I don’t know if she originated this or not but watching her video inspired me to do this.

Let me start off by saying that I don’t read books that I think I’ll hate. If I pick up a book it’s because it has things about it that I know I’ll love now whether I will is entirely up to the book. I do try to not put expectations on books but the hype and the hope are just too strong lol


The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue by Victoria Schwab

I was sitting on the fence with this one and still hesitant to pick it up because one I might become obsessed and two, I might completely hate it. I never know what I’m going to get from Schwab’s writing. I LOVED Vicious it’s my favorite. But the Different London series and the sequel to Vicious were awful. I did somewhat enjoy the Verity Duology. So, this book could go in either direction. I’m hoping from 5 stars based off others who have similar reading tastes to mine.


Girl, Serpent, Thorn by Melissa Bashardoust

I’ve forgotten what this story is about but I don’t care I want to read this SOOOO BAD. I’ve heard nothing but rave reviews from trusted friends and I need to be one of the screaming fans.


Tarnished are the Stars by Rosiee Thor

Quirky fun space crew shenanigans, sign me up! This sounds like such a fun science fiction romp and I am here for it.  


Black Sun by Rebecca Roanhorse

I’ve been sitting on this one waiting until I get the nerve to pick this up and let it devour me. The first chapter killed me and I just know that if I ever get the function of my brain to full power again I’m taking the day off to read this bad boy.


The Sword of Kaigen by M.L. Wang

~ I still haven’t read this ~  That’s my national anthem. Two months ago I wrote a post roasting myself over the books I had but haven’t read and this was one of them. I think the biggest reason this sits waiting for the day to be chosen is because I know I’m going to love it. I’m scared of the cost of that love, so I let it sit and collect dust.


A Record Spaceborn Few by Becky Chambers

Every time I think I’m ready it turns out I’m not lol I’m not ready for the emotional connections I’m going to make with the characters and then disaster will strike leaving everyone an emotional wreck and I just. can’t.  I will read this when I seek out the wizard for courage.


Someday I’ll read these books and then I’ll do a follow up post to see how this all goes.  

Have you read any of these books? Did you enjoy them?

Connect & Support:

11 thoughts on “My 5 Star Predictions”

  1. Hm, I haven’t heard of others, but Addie Larue, I’ve read! Since we both share same views on certain books, I really think you’ll love Addie Larue, tho yes, it does start a bit boring…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment